Books by: Acharya Tulsi

Acharya Tulsi (20 October 1914 – 23 June 1997) was a prominent Jain religious leader.[1] He was the founder of the Anuvrata movement and the Jain Vishva Bharti Institute, Ladnun and the author of over one hundred books. Acharya Mahapragya, Acharya Mahashraman and Sadhvipramukha Kanakprabha were his disciples. In the 1970s, Acharya Tulsi began researching, compiling translations and commentaries on the Jain Agamas. Acharya Tulsi, along with Yuvacharya Mahapragya, sought to rediscover Jain meditation and termed it Preksha Dhyan. In 1949 he launched the Anuvrat Movement[6] (anu = small, vrat=vow, Anuvratas are the limited version of the Mahavratas for the monks), based on the five Jain principles Truth, Nonviolence, Non possession, Non-stealing and Celibacy as applied in their limited version for the lay people. The movement encouraged people to apply the Anuvratas in their personal lives, even when dealing with non-religious aspects of the society. The movement also held that Dharma is not for ensuring happiness in the future lives but also for achieving happiness in the present life. The movement has continued under the leadership of his disciple Yuvacharya Mahapragya. He was raised to the rank of the Acharya by Acharya Tulsi himself.
Published books : 33
Designation : Acharya
Sect : Shwetambar Terapanth

Share :